Rad reading-October Gym Candy

I have not finished this book yet; I am currently on page 120. This month I read a book called gym candy by Carl Deuker. Mike Johnson tries to fulfill his dream by trying to stand out in his practices and his games for Football. Mikes coach is not so happy with him and his dad because Mike Johnson’s dad ran over the coach in college football to which is now on the sports center. Mike starts the season off slow. He does not have that good of players so he gets mad after they lose 15-3. I like gym candy because it show how Mike pushed further and the further he pushed the better he gets and I like that I can learn like Mike did. Another reason why I like the book was because we got to see Mike Johnson’s journey throughout his football career. I think gym candy is outstanding. My favorite quote from the book is “I ended up practicing every single day, just like my dad wanted, but I wasn’t doing it because I thought I had a chance to start. I was doing it because I didn’t know how else to play.” Thins quote is meaningful to me because he didn’t do it because his dad wanted him to he wanted to do it it because he wanted to get better.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *